
   
    

   

 
 

 
 

 

 
  

     
  

 
 
 

 
  

 
 

 
 

 
  

 

   
      

 

          
     

    
   

 
 

  
   

 
   

  
  

 

 

 

   
  

 
  

  

 

        

  
 
 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Joe Lombardo DEPARTMENT OF Governor Lisa Sherych 
Administrator HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES Richard Whitley, MS 
Ihsan Azzam, Director DIVISION OF PUBLIC AND BEHAVIORAL HEALTH Ph.D., M.D. 

Helping people. It’s who we are and what we do. Chief Medical Officer 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING 

VICTORIA PEREA, PO BOX 1408, MCGILL, NV 89318 IS REQUESTING A VARIANCE, 
#746, FROM THE NEVADA STATE BOARD OF HEALTH REGULATIONS. 

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN THAT Victoria Perea, PO Box 1408, McGill, NV 89318 has requested a variance from Nevada 
Administrative Code (NAC) 450B.320 “Licensing of attendants: Qualifications”. 

A public hearing will be conducted on March 3, 2023, at 9:00 am by the Nevada State Board of Health to consider this 
request. This meeting will be held online and at physical locations, listed below. 

Physical Locations: 
Southern Nevada Health District (SNHD) 
Red Rock Trail Rooms A and B 
280 S. Decatur Boulevard; Las Vegas, Nevada 89107 

Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health (DPBH) 
Hearing Room No. 303, 3rd Floor 
4150 Technology Way; Carson City, Nevada 89706 

Meeting Link: 
https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-
join/19%3ameeting_MDI0M2VlNDItNzU5NS00YjFhLThmMDUtMWEzOTA1NWUxODRj%40thread.v2/0?context=%7b%22 
Tid%22%3a%22e4a340e6-b89e-4e68-8eaa-1544d2703980%22%2c%22Oid%22%3a%22e2f9f008-841c-437d-b037-
927c30ea003e%22%7d 

Please Note: If you experience technical difficulties connecting online, please call into the meeting to participate by 
phone. 

Join by Phone: 
1-775-321-6111 
Phone Conference ID Number: 443 843 916# 

Victoria Perea, PO Box 1408, McGill, NV 89318, is requesting a variance from NAC 450B.320. 
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NAC 450B.320 Licensing of attendants: Qualifications. (NRS 450B.120, 450B.160) 
1. The Division may not issue a license to an applicant unless all the information required by NAC 450B.330 is 

contained in the application and the Division is satisfied that the applicant meets the following criteria: 
(a) Is 18 years of age or older as of the date of the application. 
(b) If applying to become an attendant: 

(1) Holds a Class A, Class B or Class C driver’s license or its equivalent issued in this state; or 
(2) Is employed in Nevada, makes his or her residence in another state and is required by reason of residence to 

maintain a driver’s license issued by that state, and that license is equivalent to a Class A, Class B or Class C driver’s license 
in this state. 

(c) Is able to read, speak and understand the English language. 
(d) Has been found by a licensed physician, physician assistant or advanced practice registered nurse within the 6 

months immediately preceding the date on which the application is submitted to be of sound physical and mental health 
and free of physical defects or diseases which may impair the applicant’s ability to drive or attend an ambulance, air 
ambulance or other motor vehicle not used for the transportation of patients and that determination is verified by the 
physician, physician assistant or advanced practice registered nurse on a form approved by the Division for that purpose. 

(e) Has not been convicted of: 
(1) Murder, voluntary manslaughter or mayhem; 
(2) Assault or battery with intent to kill or to commit sexual assault or mayhem; 
(3) Sexual assault, statutory sexual seduction, incest, lewdness or indecent exposure, or any other sexually related 

crime; 
(4) Abuse or neglect of a child or contributory delinquency; 
(5) A violation of any federal or state law regulating the possession, distribution or use of any controlled substance 

or any dangerous drug as defined in chapter 454 of NRS, within the 7 years immediately preceding the date of application; 
(6) Abuse, neglect, exploitation, isolation or abandonment of older persons or vulnerable persons, including, 

without limitation, a violation of any provision of NRS 200.5091 to 200.50995, inclusive, or a law of any other jurisdiction 
that prohibits the same or similar conduct; 

(7) Any offense involving fraud, theft, embezzlement, burglary, robbery, fraudulent conversion or misappropriation 
of property, within the 7 years immediately preceding the date of application; 

(8) Any other felony involving the use or threatened use of force or violence against the victim or the use of a firearm 
or other deadly weapon, within the 7 years immediately preceding the date of application; or 

(9) Any felony or misdemeanor for committing an act which, in the judgment of the Division, indicates that the 
applicant may not be able to function properly as a licensee or to care for patients for whom he or she would become 
responsible. 

(f) Possesses a certificate evidencing successful completion of a program of training with testing for competency in the 
procedures for emergency care which is equivalent to the national standard or an equivalent standard approved by the 
Administrator of the Division for a driver, emergency medical technician, advanced emergency medical technician or 
paramedic. 

(g) Possesses a valid certificate to provide cardiopulmonary resuscitation issued by the American Heart Association or 
an equivalent certificate approved by the Division. 

(h) Submits evidence satisfactory to the Division of verification of the applicant’s skills. 
2. In addition, an applicant for a license as an air attendant must: 
(a) Meet all the prerequisites for an attendant set forth in NAC 450B.310 to 450B.350, inclusive. 
(b) Possess the following: 

(1) A certificate as an advanced emergency medical technician or as a paramedic which was issued pursuant 
to chapter 450B of NRS; or 

(2) A license as a registered nurse issued pursuant to chapter 632 of NRS and a certificate of completion of training 
as an attendant pursuant to subsections 7 and 8 of NRS 450B.160. 

(c) Provide to the Division documentation verifying successful completion of a course of training approved by the 
medical director of the service employing the applicant. The course must include: 

(1) Special considerations in attending a patient in an air ambulance; 
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(2) Aircraft safety and orientation; 
(3) Altitude physiology and principles of atmospheric physics; 
(4) Familiarization with systems for air-to-ground communications; 
(5) Familiarization with the system of emergency medical services in the service area; 
(6) Survival procedures in an emergency landing or other unforeseen incident involving an air ambulance; 
(7) Response procedures to accidents or crashes involving hazardous materials; 
(8) Use of modalities for in-flight treatment; 
(9) Infection control; 
(10) Oxygen therapy in relation to altitude; 
(11) Patient assessment in the airborne environment; and 
(12) Vital sign determination in the airborne environment. 

3. In addition to the qualifications listed in subsections 1 and 2, a paramedic or an emergency medical services 
registered nurse providing advanced life support care in an air ambulance must provide evidence of completion of a course 
in: 

(a) Advanced Cardiovascular Life Support issued by the American Heart Association or an equivalent course approved 
by the Division; 

(b) Pediatric Advanced Life Support issued by the American Heart Association or an equivalent course approved by the 
Division; and 

(c) International Trauma Life Support or an equivalent course approved by the Division. 
[Bd. of Health, Ambulance Reg. § 13.005 subsecs. (a)-(g) & (i), eff. 12-3-73; A and renumbered as §§ 15.5-15.5.7.7 & 

15.5.9-15.5.9.4, eff. 2-28-80]—(NAC A 10-14-82; 8-22-86; 8-1-91; 5-18-92; R045-97, 10-30-97; R182-01, 3-5-2002; R024-
14, 10-24-2014; R068-16, 1-27-2017) 

The authority of the State Board of Health to consider and grant a variance from the requirements of a regulation is 
set forth at NRS 439.200 and NAC 439.200 – 439.280. 

Persons wishing to comment upon the proposed variance may appear at the scheduled public hearing or may submit 
written testimony at least five days before the scheduled hearing to: 

Secretary, State Board of Health 
Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

4150 Technology Way, Suite 300 
Carson City, NV 89706 

Anyone wishing to testify for more than five minutes on the proposed variance must petition the Board of Health at the 
above address. Petitions shall contain the following: 1) a concise statement of the subject(s) on which the petitioner will 
present testimony; 2) the estimated time for the petitioner’s presentation. 

This notice has also been posted at the following locations: 

DIVISION OF PUBLIC AND BEHAVIORAL HEALTH (DPBH), 4150 TECHNOLOGY WAY, CARSON CITY, NV 
DIVISION OF PUBLIC AND BEHAVIORAL HEALTH WEBSITE: 

http://dpbh.nv.gov/Boards/BOH/Meetings/Meetings/ 
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